Rocky Mountain National Park Backpacking Trip: Gear Breakdown

I had a busy weekend but found time to break out my pack and spread out all the gear I will be taking with me to RMNP.  The weather finally cooperated so I could get outside and film the companion Youtube video for my Regularguyadventures channel.  Click to view video.

I have done many overnight backpacking trips here locally in Ohio.   Wildcat Hollow is a 15 mile loop trail that I have done several times but have never done anything of the length or difficulty that this Colorado trip will be.   As a “regular guy”, I didn’t have the disposable income to just go buy everything you see in this list.   It took me a little while to slowly acquire everything detailed below.   Don’t let that stop you from planning a trip if you have a passion to do it.

My goal has been to keep my pack between 31# – #33 pounds.   I’m sure there are things you may disagree with or would add to my list.   That’s fine, I am open to suggestions.

  • Trails Illustrated Map of park
  • Gregory Pack / small day pack
  • The North Face Sleeping Bag / Therm-a-rest sleeping pad / Therm-a-rest camp pillow
  • Columbia packable rain jacket / Spyder 1/4 zip sweater
  • Columbia Shade hat / Under Armour Fleece Hat
  • Keen Hiking boots / water shoes for around camp
  • Waterproof matches / space blankets / First Aid Kit/ Leatherman multi-tool /50′ para cord
  • Emergency duct tape /
  • REI Halfdome 2 Plus Tent, 5′ x 7′ tarp for under tent
  • Katadyn Water Filter / Camel-bak water bladder
  • Sunscreen / chapstick with SPF15 / bug spray / toiletries
  • Frogg Togg Chilly pad / sunglasses
  • Biodegradable camp soap / wash rag / wet wipes / towel
  • Fly rod / carry tube / flies / net
  • Sea to Summit 10 liter sink / sponge / spork / GSI Pinncle Soloist Cookset
  • Jetboil Stove / fuel
  • Handheld HD video camera / Gorilla tripod
  • Cabela’s Alaskan Guide Series Headlamp
  • Numerous zip-lock bags for packing out trash

It’s worth noting, my 12 year old son is coming with me and will be carrying some of the things listed above.   He will also be carrying the bear canister with all our food.  That’s the trade-off for me carrying the tent.  I hope you find this list helpful and at least give you some ideas of what you need to buy for your next trip.  I will be doing a follow-up post in mid August to talk about how all my gear performed.  See you next time.   “Make it happen”

2 thoughts on “Rocky Mountain National Park Backpacking Trip: Gear Breakdown

  1. If you want to go lighter: (And you may have already done some of these things!) Don’t pack in a day pack, instead cinch down your big pack for day uses. Instead of carrying a whole role of duct tape just wrap some around a water bottle or trekking poles. Those are my two pieces of advice. Looks like you guys are gonna have an awesome time!

    Like

    1. Thanks for the tip. Actually, I’m not taking a whole role of duct tape but rather I wrapped some around a small Nerf dart of my son’s and put it in with my medical kit. Keeping it cheap and lightweight. haha

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

